Frequently Asked Questions
- What’s the difference between the Jewish Monument Community and the Digital Monument?
- Are stories verified or edited before they are published?
- Once I publish an article, can I still edit or delete it later on?
- Who owns the copyright to a story once it’s published?
- Are the stories reliable?
- What’s the policy regarding offensive stories and responses?
- Can I determine who views my story?
- Can I determine who is allowed to comment on my story?
- Can I publish articles anonymously or under a pen name?
- How do I tag a photo?
- How do I indicate family relationships?
- What’s the difference between a comment and an article?
- How do I cancel my registration?
The Digital Monument to the Jewish Community in the Netherlands was established in 2005. This website lists victims of the Shoah who were deported from the Netherlands.
The Community website has the exact same information, but contains much more.
All individuals included in the Digital Monument are also listed in the Jewish Monument Community. On the Community website, you can add information on the victims, their families, pictures or memories. You may also add articles about related topics. Your own userprofile, and the pages added by you or other users are also part of the Commuity website. It hence includes pages for Shoah victims, pre-war generations, post-war relatives and the present members of the Community website.
Yes. Using the My contributions function, you can access a list of everything you have added to the site: Photos, articles, events and comments. Each of these items can be changed, using the Edit function. You can also remove items by clicking on Delete.
Note: Like all other websites, Jewish Monument is regularly copied by search engines. These copies can linger on the internet for extended periods.
By uploading an article on the Jewish Monument site, the author gives the site permission to publish the article, but retains the copyright. The article remains the intellectual property of the author. For this reason, the author can always edit or remove the text. Using the Copyright button available next to every new piece of content (also accessible under Preferences), you can select the degree to which the copyright of your content is protected.
Yes, you can indicate who is allowed to view your story and who isn’t. You can allow all visitors to the site to read your story, or only registered users, or only friends and acquaintances (people you have indicated as friends or acquaintances), or only you yourself. By clicking on Visible for: everybody in the bar at the top or bottom of the page, you can select who is allowed to view or edit your content. To save these settings, click Save this page. The default setting is that anyone visiting the website can view the story. This is indicated in the bar at the top of the page as: Visible for: everybody.
Yes, every author can indicate for each story who is allowed to respond. Just as when you indicate who is allowed to view your content, you can also choose from different settings when you indicate who is allowed to comment: All visitors to the site, registered users, acquaintances, friends, no-one. To adjust these settings, click on Visible for: everybody/Comments from: members of this site.
Yes. You also have the option to publish a story for a limited group (consisting of people selected by you).
When you first register, you are asked to enter your first name, last name and email address. Your name and surname are visible and may therefore be a pen name. After registering, you can compile your profile page. Selecting the Visible for everybody option for your email address, allows everyone to see it. This function also allows you to hide your email address for other users, or to allow only friends and acquaintances to see it.
The term tagging refers to the process of using a frame to link an image to the name of the person or persons in the image.
Tagging is important because only a tagged photo is automatically also displayed on the personal page of the person or persons tagged in the image.
On a personal page, use the Add a family member button to indicate kinship and family relationships. You can add individuals who are not yet included on the Jewish Monument site. This is an important function, because it displays an overview of the entire structure of an individual’s family relationships.
The difference is the length of the piece and where it’s published.
A comment is a brief message which can be placed anywhere on the site. The comments box is the blue-framed area where you can add details such as someone’s date of birth or death. But you can also use this feature to express your opinion about an article.
An article is a longer, more independent piece, about a subject of your own choosing. You can link your article to other articles and individuals on the site, by using the +About button or by adding keywords.
If, while writing a comment you notice you need to write more than just a few lines, you can always consider turning it into an article.
If you no longer wish to be a registered user of Jewish Monument, send an email to the editors at firstname.lastname@example.org. We will then remove your profile from the website. You can’t do this yourself. You can remove your content, using the My contributions menu.